Allendale Borough Council Adopts Ordinance to Amend Employee Compensation, Appoints New Members to Various Boards

The Allendale Borough Council recently convened to address municipal matters, with a focus on the approval of ordinance 24-1, which amends the salaries, wages, and compensation of borough officers and employees for the year 2024. The ordinance saw unanimous approval from the council members.

One of the notable outcomes of the meeting was the unanimous approval of ordinance 24-1, which proposes amendments to the salaries, wages, and compensation of the borough’s officers and employees for the year 2024.

In addition to the financial ordinance, Mayor Amy E. Wilczynski announced a series of appointments to various boards that play a role in the governance and cultural enrichment of Allendale. New members were introduced to the Land Use Board, including Andrew Agario and Joseph Kti, while Lauren Paterno was welcomed as a new member of the Library Board.

The council meeting also spotlighted the swearing-in of Councilman Edward O’Connell and Councilman Joseph Daloisio, who both affirmed their dedication to their civic duties. Councilman O’Connell was elected as the council president for 2024, a role that comes with the responsibility of guiding council sessions and ensuring efficient governance. His election was accompanied by words of gratitude and a sense of optimism for the year ahead.

Another item discussed was the reorganization of the council’s committees, which are fundamental to the borough’s operations. Mayor Wilczynski introduced resolutions pertaining to the election of the council president and the amendment of standing committees, actions that reflect the dynamic nature of the borough’s governance and its adaptability to changing needs and circumstances.

In a display of gratitude and recognition, Mayor Wilczynski and the council members took a moment to commend the Allendale Fire Department and Allendale Volunteer Ambulance Corps, appointing and swearing in their officers. These individuals pledged their commitment to serving the community.

The meeting also addressed the ongoing activities of the Department of Public Works (DPW), as Councilman O’Connell provided an update on their recent efforts, including the collection of Christmas trees and readiness for inclement weather.

Councilwoman Lovisolo discussed the finance, HR, and admin departments’ success in maintaining a 0% municipal tax increase and outlined plans to enhance communication with the public. She also touched upon ongoing land use initiatives and the potential return of the shade tree committee.

Council President Homan acknowledged Mayor Wilczynski’s efforts and leadership. Homan further reported on the water committee’s agenda, which includes addressing unused funds and conducting lead and copper testing, emphasizing the importance of ensuring clean and safe water for Allendale residents.

Similarly, Councilman Yaccarino’s anticipation of joining the Public Safety Committee and the progress on demolishing the existing concession stand indicated a focus on enhancing community facilities and safety measures.

Councilman Daloisio conveyed his New Year’s wishes and enthusiasm for his new role, particularly his collaboration with the DPW. His commitment to maintaining the borough’s standards of excellence was echoed by Councilman O’Connell, who congratulated Daloisio on his swearing-in.

The meeting concluded with the swearing-in of additional key figures, including Municipal Judge Chris B, Borough Administrator Allison Alano, and DPW Superintendent Andrew Agario. Two new police officers, Nicholas Antonelli and Christopher Rosado, were also welcomed to their roles.

Did we get something wrong? Let us know.
Amy E. Wilczynski
City Council Officials:
Liz Homan, Susanne Lovisolo, Edward O’Connell, Matthew O’Toole, Tyler Yaccarino, Joseph Daloisio

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes