Clark School Board Approves Tentative Annual School Budget

The Clark School Board has approved the tentative annual school budget for the 2024-2025 academic year, which will now be submitted to the Union County Executive Superintendent for approval. The budget, which totals $47,784,427, includes $43,745,000 for the general fund, $2.2 million for special revenue, and $1.8 million for debt service. The tax levy to support the budget is set at $36 million. This financial plan is key to the district’s operations and will be further discussed in a public budget presentation scheduled for May.

During the meeting, Superintendent Edward Grande presented the budget details, expressing gratitude to the finance committee and the board for their support throughout the process. The board also acknowledged the retirements of two long-term staff members: a grade five teacher from the Henley School with 22 years of service and a member of the maintenance department with 27 years.

In curriculum matters, the school board approved the calendar for the next school year, which will be distributed district-wide and posted on the school’s website. Additionally, the board discussed the upcoming Camp Cougar, an introductory summer program for incoming sixth graders, and the intramural track program at Carl H. Kumpf Middle School.

The meeting also highlighted the donation of two $500 checks from P&J Fuel Incorporated, under Exxon Mobil Educational Alliance, to the district’s STEAM programs. These contributions support the advancement of science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics education.

Superintendent Grande celebrated the district’s recent initiatives and achievements, including the National Day of Unplugging, the NJ GPA testing for juniors, Read Across America events, and the National Honor Society induction. He also announced the re-designation of Carl H. Kumpf Middle School as a New Jersey School to Watch.

Other noteworthy topics included the recognition of two high school students at the Union County Unsung Heroes Award and the upcoming performance of the spring musical “Mean Girls” at Arthur L. Johnson High School. The board acknowledged the ongoing efforts of the Heroes and Cool Kids program in middle schools and looked forward to the Science Olympiad team’s participation in the state championships.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Edward Grande
School Board Officials:
Steven Donkersloot, Thomas Lewis, Lorraine j. Aklonis, Dino Bencivenga, Scott Bohm, Robert Brede, Megan Harrison, Kristen Hickman, Robert F. Smorol, Jr., Christine Guerriero (Garwood Representative)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes