Cranbury Zoning Board Elects New Chair and Vice Chair for 2024

In a development during the latest meeting of the Cranbury Zoning Board, Merilee Meacock was elected as the new Chair for the year 2024, with David Nissen securing the position of Vice Chair.

The meeting commenced with the swearing-in of Robert Diamond. Following the pledge, the Board carried out its annual reorganization, which included the election of officers and appointment of Board professionals. Merilee Meacock was unanimously chosen as Chair, with David Nissen similarly receiving full support to continue as Vice Chair. The nominations for both roles were met with a positive response.

The Board also assigned representatives to the Development Review Committee (DRC), with Richard Kallan continuing his role and Joseph Buonavolonta being nominated as an alternate. The DRC plays a role in the preliminary review of applications, determining their path towards the zoning or planning boards. This ensures that the town’s development is managed efficiently and in alignment with Cranbury’s growth objectives.

Furthermore, the Board confirmed its professional appointments for the year. Elizabeth Leheny will continue as Board Planner, Edwin W. Schmierer, Esq as Board Attorney, David Hoder as Board Engineer, with Thomas Decker serving as Conflict Board Engineer. Andrew Feranda will remain as Board Traffic Consultant, and David H. Horner will continue as Conflict Traffic Engineer.

Additionally, the Board approved the 2024 meeting calendar, with adjustments made to accommodate holidays. The designation of the newspapers for public notices was also confirmed, with the Cranbury Press joining the Trenton Times in disseminating information about the Board’s activities.

The Board reviewed and passed the annual report for 2023, which highlighted the appropriate nature of applications received in the past year. This was followed by the approval of the minutes from the November 1st meeting, concluding the formal business of the reorganization.

During the public comment segment, no substantial issues were raised by the attendees, allowing the meeting to adjourn swiftly. However, a notable mention was made towards the end of the meeting regarding a potential future application related to a cannabis business.

Did we get something wrong? Let us know.
Michael J. Ferrante
Zoning Board Officials:
Merilee Meacock, David Nissen, Steven Schwarz, Joseph Buonavolonta, Richard Kallan, Robert Diamond, Gwen Parker, Francis McGovern, Saras Kothari, Robin Tillou (Land Use Administrator), Edwin W. Schmierer, Esq (Board Attorney), Elizabeth Leheny, PP (Board Planner), David Hoder, Pe, Pp, Cme, CPWM (Board Engineer), Andrew Feranda, P.E., Ptos, CME (Board Traffic Consultant), Thomas Decker, P.E. (Conflict Board Engineer), David H. Horner (Conflict Traffic Engineer), Lisa Kneirim (Committee Liaison)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes