Demarest Board of Education Awards Tenure, Approves Key Staffing Decisions

In a recent meeting, the Demarest Board of Education, New Jersey, made a series of significant decisions to shape the forthcoming 2023/2024 school year. Most notably, tenure was awarded to six educators, and several key staffing decisions were unanimously approved.

On May 16, 2023, the Demarest Board of Education convened, chaired by President Holzberg, with Superintendent Mr. Fox and Ms. Kelly as the Business Administrator/Board Secretary.

The meeting’s primary focus was the staffing decisions for the 2023/2024 school year. Six educators—Julia Amaya, Hyewon Mohanram, Audrey Moran, Nicole Petri, Katherine Shaughnessy, and Kelly Tiscornia—were awarded tenure. The board unanimously approved these decisions upon recommendation from the Chief School Administrator.

The Board also ratified the provisional employment of Reilly Medzadourian as a substitute teacher for the remaining 2022/2023 school year and Lia DiPiazza as the County Road School Physical Education and Health Teacher for the 2023/2024 term. Additionally, several teachers were approved for tenure appointments for the 2023/2024 academic year. The Board ensured that the teachers’ salaries and steps would be adjusted upon the final settlement of the contract between the Demarest Board of Education and the Demarest Education Association.

Aside from staff appointments, the Board confirmed athletic schedules for girls and boys basketball and approved various custodial, maintenance, and secretarial staff for the upcoming school year. Frank Mazzini was appointed as Affirmative Action Officer (AAO) for the 2023/2024 academic year.

Notably, the Board also approved a Consortium Memorandum of Agreement between the Northern Valley Regional High School Board of Education and the Demarest School District. This agreement aims to optimize the usage of the ESEA Grant, making the Northern Valley Regional High School the fiscal agent and lead education agency (LEA) for the consortium. Each consortium member will retain its own Title I grant money.

Among other fiscal decisions, the Board approved the donation of a storage container to the Borough of Demarest Department of Public Works. They also green-lighted contracts with the BCSSSD for non-public students and Thrive Alliance Group for support services for the ERi program using ESSER III grant monies, amounting to a maximum of $55,440.

The proposed 2023/2024 contract for Antoinette Kelly, the School Business Administrator/Board Secretary, was also submitted for sanction to the Executive County Superintendent. The Board concluded the fiscal matters by approving April 2023 payrolls and an April 25, 2023 bill list totaling $579,741.20, encompassing multiple expense areas.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Not avaliable:

School Board Officials:

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes