East Rutherford Borough Council Greenlights Cannabis Tax and Affordable Housing Adjustments

In a recent meeting held on June 20, 2023, the East Rutherford Borough Council passed several significant resolutions and ordinances, among which the establishment of a Cannabis Transfer and User Tax and adjustments to the Affordable Housing Overlay Zone emerged as key highlights. Attended by Mayor Lahullier, Council Members Ravettine, Cronk, Alvarez, Lorusso, and DeRosa, as well as Borough Clerk Danielle Lorenc and Attorney Gerald Salerno, the meeting saw the unanimous approval of all agenda items without contention or debate.

Of note were two ordinances that moved past their second readings and were adopted unanimously. Ordinance 2023-14 amends the Land Use Chapter, thereby establishing a Cannabis Transfer and User Tax. Ordinance 2023-15 amends the Affordable Housing Overlay Zone by adjusting specific bulk standards. Both measures carry significant implications for the borough’s fiscal landscape and residential development.

New Ordinances 2023-17 and 2023-18 were introduced for first reading. The former amends Chapter 285 of the Borough Code to prohibit parking without a permit on certain streets, while the latter amends specific provisions of the Towing Ordinance of the Borough of East Rutherford. Both ordinances were advanced to the second reading phase with no recorded opposition.

The Council also ratified payments made by the Chief Financial Officer from Kearny Bank during May 2023 under Resolution 100-2023 and renewed liquor licenses for various establishments under Resolution 101-2023, stipulating closure times for outside bar and seating areas.

Two agreements were authorized, with the Otteau Group, Inc. to provide a market study of 10 Morton Street for $9,500, and with Bertin Engineering to provide engineering design services. Both specified restrictions on political or candidate committee contributions by the contracted firms.

The Council moved to greenlight a Developer’s Agreement with 315 Railroad LLC for a multi-family development project on 315 Railroad Ave., following prior approval by the Borough’s Planning Board in 2022. An agreement with Bergen County was also ratified, allowing for the reimbursement of engineering and design services related to intersection improvements at Hackensack Avenue and Union Avenue.

An application for a grant from the New Jersey Department of Transportation to support the East Union Avenue Road Program was also approved during the Mayor’s Report.

As the meeting closed, the Council adjourned into an Executive Session to discuss personnel and litigation matters. The session concluded with the authorization for the Clerk to certify the sergeant and lieutenant list, call for new tests for both positions, and to dismiss Bill Swiston from the East Rutherford Emergency Squad.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Not avaliable:

City Council Officials:

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes