Fairfield School Board Elects New President and Vice President for 2024

In a development for the Fairfield School Board, Anthony DePascale was elected as the new Board President, while Angela Altaai was appointed as the Vice President for the 2024 calendar year. The election took place during the recent reorganization meeting.

DePascale, who has been a member of the board, received considerable support from his colleagues, with the exception of his own abstention during the voting process. Altaai, similarly, was nominated and elected with affirmative votes from her peers, albeit with her own abstention. Their appointments come after a public affirmation of the November 2023 Board of Education election results, which saw DePascale securing a three-year term with 921 votes, Joseph Fede being elected for a one-year term with 1161 votes, and Melinda Street receiving the highest number of votes, 1257, for a three-year term.

During the meeting, the board members took their oaths of office, pledging to uphold their duties faithfully, impartially, and justly, in accordance with the Constitution and laws of the United States and New Jersey. Following the swearing-in ceremony, the board progressed to formalize the election results and moved to nominate and elect the new president and vice president for the year.

The board also acknowledged the service of Andrea Bellise-Jandoli as the past president, thanking her for her contributions in 2023. Additionally, they recognized the presence of local dignitaries, including the chairman of the Republican committee, council members, and the chairman of the zoning board.

A key item on the agenda was the adoption of the Board Member Code of Ethics, which emphasizes the commitment of the board members to uphold laws, make decisions in the interest of students, and maintain confidentiality, among other ethical standards. The code was unanimously adopted by all present board members.

Furthermore, the board confirmed the chairpersons and members for various committees for the 2024 organizational year, adding two new committees: Recreation, chaired by Anthony DePascale with Joseph Fede as a member, and Community Outreach, chaired by Angela Altaai with DePascale also serving as a member. This measure is aimed at ensuring that the board can immediately begin addressing the district’s needs and priorities.

In other business, the board highlighted the upcoming fundraiser for the Education Foundation, set for February 7th, encouraging community participation and support for the initiative. They also expressed appreciation for school personnel who adeptly managed scheduling changes and technical issues during the winter break.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.

Dr. Susan Ciccotelli
School Board Officials:
Anthony DePascale, Angela Altaai, Andrea Bellise-Jandoli, Joseph Fede, Melinda Street, Mrs. Kathleen Marano (Board Secretary/Business Admin.)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes