Haworth Council Approves Bond Ordinance, Sets Police Pay Scale

The Haworth Borough Council made strides in adopting crucial financial amendments and setting a comprehensive pay scale for police officers. All members were present, except for Alanna Davis, at the meeting held on July 11, 2023.

Highlighting the assembly was the unanimous passage of Bond Ordinance #23-12, spearheaded by Councilwoman Dina Siciliano and Councilman Andrew Rosenberg. The ordinance, effective through December 31, 2026, determines the rate of compensation for police officers. Notably, it provides different salary tables for officers hired before and after January 1, 2015. The salary structure will continue until a successor agreement is in place, should one not be executed by the end of 2026.

For officers hired after 2015, the yearly salary ranges up to $126,511 from their ninth year of service and thereafter. The ordinance also includes additional compensation for ranks such as sergeants, lieutenants, and captains. The council unanimously approved this ordinance, with members Glenn Z Poosikian, Rosenberg, Siciliano, Lisa Dhamija, and Howard Lau casting their votes in favor.

Another significant point of the meeting was the approval of a resolution for the Bond Anticipation Note, termed a “Qualified Tax-Exempt Obligation.” The note, amounting to $2,911,000 and payable by July 12, 2024, complies with the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, exempting it from gross income for federal income tax purposes.

In terms of personnel, Mayor Heather Wasser swore in Jo Anna Myung as the Municipal Clerk. Additionally, the council approved the appointment of Carolyn Lee as Deputy Clerk and Alan Silverman as Temporary Construction Code Official.

Regarding technology, the council greenlit a contract with Catalis for a website package, costing an initial $3,995, to be increased by 6% annually over a four-year term.

Eric Slutsky was welcomed as a volunteer Junior Fireman for the Haworth Fire Department.

Finally, the council acknowledged resident Nubar Nakashian’s selection as a New Jersey Fifth District Hometown Hero, due for an honoring ceremony by U.S. Congressman Josh Gottheimer. The council also addressed public concerns about tree removal, stating that any issues could be directed to the Shade Tree Commission or the Borough Clerk’s office.

Did we get something wrong? Let us know.

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:


City Council Members:

Trending in
New Jersey: