Hillsdale Board Announces New Principal Amid Key Educational Updates

In a recent Work Session / Regular Meeting convened by the Hillsdale Board of Education, Christine Higgins was formally appointed as the Principal of Ann Blanche Smith School. The appointment is set to be effective from January 1, 2024.

Mrs. Higgins, who will take over the helm at Ann Blanche Smith School, was congratulated by Angela Iskenderian. The board also acknowledged Mrs. Iskenderian’s services. Christine Barnhart presented flowers to Mrs. Higgins to welcome her to the new role.

Superintendent Dr. Robert V. Lombardy Jr. provided insights into various educational matters. His report covered updates on school enrollment, the relaunch of the George G. White Referendum Project, and Back to School Nights. He also welcomed Mrs. Higgins and shared a letter of appreciation from the Smith PTA.

Under the leadership of Trustee Sal Sileo and with the participation of Trustee Christina Jennings, the Education Committee brought forth several significant motions. One notable approval was for the 9/11 Memorial Museum in New York to be designated as a field trip location for the 2023-2024 school year. Additionally, the intramural kickball program at Meadowbrook School received a nod, and a generous donation from the Smith School Parent Teacher Association was accepted with gratitude. This donation is earmarked for outdoor space improvements at Ann Blanche Smith School.

Personnel developments saw the Board ratifying a revised custodian collective negotiations agreement with the Hillsdale Education Association. Spanning from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2027, the agreement ensures streamlined operations within the school infrastructure. Furthermore, several staff appointments were greenlit, and leaves for paternity and maternity reasons were granted to two employees.

Shifting focus to financial aspects, the Finance Committee, headed by Justin Saxon and with Nicole Klas’s participation, certified the financial health of the board, ensuring no over-expenditure as of July 2023. Budget transfers for July and bill approvals for August were carried out, the latter involving an amount of $1,184,490.78.

Lastly, various educational workshops, conferences, and sessions took center stage. Many staff members are set to participate in the Pascack Valley New Staff Mentoring Program. Additionally, a number of educators, including Dr. Lombardy, will attend events across New Jersey.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Not avaliable:

School Board Officials:

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes