Lake Como Borough Council Highlights Year of Progress, Prepares for Future

The Lake Como Borough Council convened recently, marking a successful year of progress while preparing for future developments. In a meeting filled with acknowledgments and updates, the council reflected on the past year’s achievements and outlined upcoming initiatives.

Council President Douglas E. Witte presented a comprehensive review of the council’s activities over the past year. He highlighted the successful completion of the lake project, the initiation of work on Bman Park, and ongoing discussions for the redevelopment of Main Street. He also noted the procurement of nearly a million dollars in grants for the borough, which will fund infrastructure improvements and other beneficial projects.

The council also approved several special events, including the Lake Como 5K, the Belmar 5 Mile Run, and the Kilt Run. These events, organized in collaboration with local community groups, are anticipated to draw participants from the borough and beyond, fostering community engagement and promoting physical activity.

In other matters, resident Susan Turzo offered to donate a cruiser bicycle to a family in need. This generous gesture complements the council’s ongoing efforts to support local residents, such as the Giving Tree initiative.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.

Kevin G. Higgins
City Council Officials:
Douglas E. Witte, Hawley Scull, Chris D’Antuono, Nick DeMauro, Peter Ventrice, Heather Albala-Doyle, Dennis Lavender (Judge), Patricia White (Court Administrator), Arielle Frank (Deputy Court Administrator), Kelly Connolly (Violations Clerk), Tina Scott (Chief of Police), Joseph Cavaluzzi (Chairperson), Viveca Graham (Secretary), Andrew Huisman (Borough Administrator), Amy L Boney (Acting Borough Clerk), Samantha Waters (Acting CFO & Water/Sewer Collector), Robbin Kirk (Tax Collector), Mark Fitzpatrick (Tax Assessor), John Rowe (Zoning Officer), John Rowe (Construction Official), Ted Bianchi (Fire Subcode Official/Inspector), Chuck Gimbel (Building Subcode Official/Inspector), Jean Verrier (Electrical Subcode Official/Inspector)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes