Lake Como Council Swears in Re-elected Members, Outlines Centennial Plans

In a commencement to the new year, Lake Como Borough Council’s reorganization meeting saw the swearing-in of re-elected council members Nick DeMauro and Peter Ventrice, and the reappointment of Douglas E. Witte as Council President. The council discussed plans for the borough’s centennial celebrations, including events and a commemorative beer named “1924.” Additionally, resolutions were passed to authorize agreements with the Monmouth County SPCA for animal control services and the Dental Services Organization Incorporated.

The council meeting began with the formal swearing-in of councilmen Nick DeMauro and Peter Ventrice. They took the oath to uphold the constitutions of the United States and New Jersey and to perform their duties faithfully.

Following the swearing-in, the attention shifted to Douglas E. Witte, who was nominated and confirmed as Council President for another term. Witte outlined a significant year ahead for Lake Como, which will celebrate its 100th anniversary in 2024. He highlighted upcoming events to mark the centenary, including a special beer named “1924” to be launched in collaboration with a local brewery.

The council approved two resolutions of note. The first authorized the execution of an agreement with the Monmouth County SPCA, which includes a Trap and release option, for a one-year term. The second resolution authorized an agreement with the Dental Services Organization Incorporated, extending from February 1, 2024, to January 31, 2025.

The centennial celebration plans include a landmark meeting scheduled for June 3, 2024, exactly 100 years to the day after the borough’s first meeting as South Belmar.

In other reports, council members confirmed that all committee matters were in order. Councilwoman Hawley Scull acknowledged the success of the December light contest and informed recipients that prizes would be distributed within the month. Councilman Chris D’Antuono reminded residents that leaf and brush pickup was complete, with Christmas tree pickup ongoing.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Kevin G. Higgins
City Council Officials:
Douglas E. Witte, Hawley Scull, Chris D’Antuono, Nick DeMauro, Peter Ventrice, Heather Albala-Doyle, Dennis Lavender (Judge), Patricia White (Court Administrator), Arielle Frank (Deputy Court Administrator), Kelly Connolly (Violations Clerk), Tina Scott (Chief of Police), Joseph Cavaluzzi (Chairperson), Viveca Graham (Secretary), Andrew Huisman (Borough Administrator), Amy L Boney (Acting Borough Clerk), Samantha Waters (Acting CFO & Water/Sewer Collector), Robbin Kirk (Tax Collector), Mark Fitzpatrick (Tax Assessor), John Rowe (Zoning Officer), John Rowe (Construction Official), Ted Bianchi (Fire Subcode Official/Inspector), Chuck Gimbel (Building Subcode Official/Inspector), Jean Verrier (Electrical Subcode Official/Inspector)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes