Manchester School Board Elects New President and Vice President

The Manchester School Board convened to swear in newly elected board members and appoint new leadership. Gayle Mount was elected as Board President and Laura Wingler as Vice President. During the meeting, a code of ethics was outlined for board members, and the meeting schedule was updated to accommodate extended executive sessions.

In a recent meeting, the Manchester School Board witnessed the swearing in of several newly elected board members. Following the oath of office administered by Board Attorney Thomas Monahan, the board conducted elections for its top leadership positions. Gayle Mount secured the position of Board President through unanimous consent while Laura Wingler was chosen as Vice President.

The meeting also offered an educational moment with an overview of the board members’ code of ethics, delivered by Monahan. The focus was on the importance of functioning as a unified board rather than as individuals, with the proper channels for addressing issues being through the Superintendent Diane Pedroza or Business Administrator Craig A. Lorentzen, CPA. Monahan emphasized the confidentiality required in executive sessions and the prohibition of using board positions for personal gain.

Additionally, an adjustment was made to the upcoming meeting schedule. Fay Weinstein noted that the January 17 board meeting would begin earlier than usual at 5:00 p. m. to allow time for extended executive sessions, although the public session would maintain its normal 6:30 p. m. start time.

The meeting concluded with a public comment period where community member Dani Staples expressed congratulations to the newly sworn-in board members, as well as to the newly elected Board President Mount and Vice President Wingler.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Diane Pedroza
School Board Officials:
Gayle Mount, Laura Wingler, George Cervenak III, Gloria Adkinson, Timothy Poss, Fay Weinstein, Mike Kelliher, Deborah Pease (Lakehurst Rep.), Craig A. Lorentzen, CPA (Business Admin./Board Secretary), Thomas Monahan (Board Attorney)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes