Maywood School Board Approves Collective Negotiation Agreement for 2023-2026

In a recent meeting convened by President Taylor, the Maywood Board of Education tackled various matters related to the forthcoming academic year of 2023-24. The board ratified the terms of the Collective Negotiation Agreement (CNA) for the school years 2023-2026, authorizing the Board President and the Business Administrator to execute the agreement. Furthermore, they endorsed an internship program with Becton Regional HS, allowing students to intern in the Maywood Public School District.

Superintendent Jordan highlighted key school activities, acknowledging John Montany and his team for managing summer construction projects and preparing school buildings for reopening. Staff orientations will take place on September 5 & 6, with students starting their year on September 7. The ESSA Consolidated application received approval from the Department of Education, and all curricula have been updated to align with state standards. Additionally, a mentoring program for fourth-grade students and security drills’ dates have been announced.

Business Administrator Ms. Pfohl discussed discussions with architects about the MEM addition and the stem lab. The Buildings & Grounds report detailed an upcoming behavioral accountability program, a new boys’ volleyball program, and the hiring of new staff, including a speech therapist.

The board approved various motions, including conference attendances, volunteers for the academic year, and joint transportation agreements with multiple school districts. They also agreed on special services for student VA (MEM) and approved tuition and transportation for out-of-district students.

For the 2023-2024 school year, revisions in various curricula, including English Language Arts, Mathematics, and Science, were endorsed. The board made multiple appointments, including bus drivers, a maternity leave replacement teacher, special education teachers, and paraprofessionals. Payments were approved for extra work hours, summer bus aide duties, and home instruction adjustments. Tenure was granted to Angela Feliciano, Jake Lindenau, and Juvilian Manzer, and both tenured and non-tenured teachers were appointed for the upcoming academic year.

Did we get something wrong? Let us know.

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:


School Board Members:

Trending in
New Jersey: