Metuchen School Board Elects New President and Vice President Amid Construction Plans

In a reorganization meeting held on January 2nd, 2024, the Metuchen School Board elected Jonathan Lifton as Board President and Dr. Hazel-Anne M. Johnson-Marcus as Vice President. The meeting also highlighted the upcoming construction project and reaffirmed the board’s commitment to student education during this period.

Jonathan Lifton was unanimously elected to serve another term as Board President, a position he has held previously during his 13-year tenure on the board. Dr. Vincent Caputo, the Superintendent, reiterated the focus on student education and commended the board’s ongoing efforts.

Dr. Hazel-Anne M. Johnson-Marcus was elected as Vice President, expressing enthusiasm for the positive direction of the district and the large-scale construction project on the horizon. The election results for board members Brian Glassberg, Dr. Johnson-Marcus, and Eric Suss were announced with Glassberg receiving 2,490 votes, Johnson-Marcus 2,477 votes, and Suss 2,391 votes.

The board also discussed the Safe Return Road Forward Plan, a mandated safety plan for staff and students in the context of COVID-19, which has not changed since its previous iteration in July. Dr. Caputo reminded everyone to adhere to health guidelines and communicate with school nurses as respiratory illnesses rise during the winter season.

Routine operations, including the approval of minutes from previous meetings and the adoption of the New Jersey School Board Association code of ethics for 2024, were conducted without dissent. The next board meeting was scheduled for January 23rd, 2024.

The board also maintained a focus on health and safety through the ongoing pandemic.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.

Vincent Caputo
School Board Officials:
Jonathan Lifton, Brian Glassberg, Dan Benderly, Michele Cook, Chris Derflinger, Hazel-Anne M. Johnson-Marcus, Alicia Killean, Deborah Spigner, Eric Suss

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes