Montclair Planning Board Discusses Parking Issues and Master Plan Updates

In the recent meeting of the Montclair Town Planning Board, the primary matters that emerged were related to parking concerns and updates to the master plan. The meeting, attended by members including John Wynn, Keith Brodock, Kevin Pierre, Kevin Ortiz, Michael Graham, Carole Willis, Anthony Ianuale, Carmel Loughman, Jeff Jacobson, Jacob Nieman and Mayor Sean Spiller, among others, primarily focused on how to address and improve the town’s parking situation.

The board revealed that parking was a significant issue and had been the subject of numerous discussions. A proposal was made to undertake an updated parking analysis evaluation to better understand the usage patterns of the town’s parking lots. Secretary Janice Talley P.P., AICP, noted, “so many of the issues involve parking and there’s a big question about that”. She further revealed that she has requested budgetary support for this initiative. However, confirmation of this funding will only be determined in the first quarter of next year.

In addition to parking, the board also discussed the master plan. The subcommittee had met recently and discussed possible revisions to the text of the plan. Member Keith Brodock mentioned, “we looked at some of the language that was in the master plan and specifically some things that we’ve talked about at other meetings here about development in different areas of the township and what made sense or not”. These potential revisions will be brought forward for the full board’s consideration.

The meeting also touched upon routine matters such as bills, the scheduling of meetings for the upcoming year, and the welcoming of a new member, Councilman Terry. The board also briefly discussed a lawsuit that had been served on the township, but details remained confidential.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.

Sean Spiller
Planning Board Officials:
John Wynn, Keith Brodock, Kevin Pierre, Kevin Ortiz, Michael Graham, Carole Willis, Anthony Ianuale, Carmel Loughman, Jeff Jacobson, Jacob Nieman, Janice Talley P.P., AICP (Secretary), Hussain Farwa (Assistant Secretary), Arthur Neiss, Esq. (Board Attorney), Marisa Tiberi, P.E. (Board Engineer), Joseph Fishinger, P.E. (Traffic Engineer)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes