Mount Greylock Regional School Committee Faces Leadership Transition

The Mount Greylock Regional School Committee recently convened to address the resignations of key administrators and to deliberate on the process of hiring new leadership. The departures of Superintendent Jason P. McCandless and the principal of Williamstown Elementary School were central topics, sparking community concern and committee debate over the district’s direction and the fostering of an inclusive educational environment.

The meeting opened with public comments, including an expression of sadness at the resignations by Ralph Hammond, who also praised Dr. McCandless’s compassionate nature and dedication. Hammond’s remarks led to a call for civility by committee member Christina, who emphasized the importance of refraining from attacking individuals or groups. Another community member, Stephanie, spoke to the need for unity in tackling racial issues within the district. Following these comments, a prepared statement read by a committee member conveyed disappointment over the resignations, and gratitude was expressed for the service rendered by the departing administrators.

The conversation then pivoted to a candid discussion initiated by Jose, who shared his differing perspectives on the approach to supporting diversity and inclusion within the school district. He stressed the importance of addressing bias and discrimination and called for unity to overcome these challenges. Another committee member, Julia, reflected on the situation by hoping for a self-assessment by the committee regarding support for the leaders and the district.

As the meeting progressed, attention shifted to the process of hiring an interim or permanent superintendent. The committee acknowledged the challenges of conducting a search at an inopportune time due to a limited candidate pool. The possibility of utilizing the Massachusetts Association of School Committees (MASC) as a resource for the superintendent search was discussed. Assistant Superintendent Joe offered to serve as interim superintendent to provide stability during the transition. The committee debated various approaches for the superintendent search, referencing past methods and the potential involvement of MASC and subcommittees. Ultimately, the committee voted to accept Joe as interim superintendent and to authorize the chair to negotiate the terms.

The timeline for the superintendent search was considered, with the aim of initiating the process in September and possibly presenting candidates by November. In addition to leadership issues, the committee addressed the availability of papers for the upcoming school committee seats and acknowledged a petition received regarding the Lain program, deciding to revisit this matter at the June meeting.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Jason P. McCandless
School Board Officials:
Christina Conry, Carrie Greene, Steven Miller, Julia Bowen, José Constantine, Curtis Elfenbein, Ursula Maloy

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes