New Leadership Elected at Hoboken School Board Meeting

In a shift of leadership, the Hoboken School Board welcomed new members and elected a new president and vice president during their latest meeting. The board administered the oath of office to newly elected members Sharyn Angley, Alex De La Torre, and Chetali Khanna. Following the swearing-in, Ailene McGuirk accepted the nomination and was elected as the new president, while Sharyn Angley was elected as the new vice president.

The meeting commenced with the administration of the oath to Sharyn Angley, Alex De La Torre, and Chetali Khanna, signalling the start of their terms on the Board. Their inauguration was met with applause from those present.

The positions of president and vice president of the Board saw a reshuffle as nominations were put forward and voting ensued. Ailene McGuirk accepted the nomination for the presidency, which was proposed by members of the Board including Leslie Norwood, and was elected with a unanimous vote. Sharyn Angley, who previously served five years as Board President, was nominated and unanimously elected as the new vice president.

The newly elected president Ailene McGuirk acknowledged the contributions of her predecessor, Sharyn Angley, and thanked her for her five years of leadership as president. McGuirk also expressed gratitude to Melanie Tekirian for her service as the outgoing vice president. McGuirk indicated that she would rely on Angley’s expertise in the coming months and highlighted the importance of the contributions made by both Angley and Tekirian to the school district.

During the meeting, it was also declared that the current 2023 committee structure would remain in place for the regular January meeting. However, an organizational shift was announced to take place between the January meeting and the February committee meetings, at which point the new committee assignments would be communicated to the members.

The meeting proceeded with routine consent agenda items, which were moved and seconded without dissent. No public comments on agenda items were recorded, as there were no sign-ups for this segment. Likewise, there were no speakers for non-agenda items. The meeting concluded with a round of thanks to the newly elected board members and the attendees, and the session was adjourned without opposition.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.

Christine Johnson
School Board Officials:
Sharyn Angley, Antonio Graña, Ailene McGuirk, Malani Cademartori, Chetali Khanna, Leslie Norwood, Alex De La Torre, Thomas Kluepfel, Melanie Tekirian

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes