Opa-Locka Commission Approves New Millage Rate Amid Fiscal Concerns

In a recent Opa-Locka City Commission meeting, the most development was the approval of a new millage rate and the re-adoption of the city’s budget for fiscal year 2023-2024. Despite reservations, the millage rate was passed with a notable increase over the rollback rate. The budget re-adoption and amendments to the General, Proprietary, and Special Revenue Funds budget were also topics, with all motions passing.

The meeting opened with a public hearing on the ordinance to re-adopt the final millage rate for the fiscal year, followed by a brief presentation of the rates. The rollback rate was announced at 8.54776 mills, with the final millage set at 9.35 mills. Following the closure of the public hearing and a confirmation that no questions were raised for the budget administrator, the motion was moved, seconded, and passed with a 4-0 vote. Despite supporting the motion to move forward, the Mayor stated on record a disagreement with the item.

Subsequently, the Commission tackled the re-adoption of the City General, Proprietary, and Special Funds budget. The motion was moved and seconded without discussion following a closed public hearing. The vote included Commissioner Joseph L. Kelley, who had entered during the meeting, and was passed with unanimous consent, 5-0. The Mayor, consistent with the earlier vote on the millage rate, expressed dissent yet voted in favor to advance the process.

Further amendments to the annual adopted budget were discussed. After the public hearing was opened and closed without any public input, the Commission asked for questions, and hearing none, proceeded to vote. The motion was again passed unanimously.


Concluding the meeting, the Commission agreed to defer all reporting and appointments to the next scheduled meeting. The City Attorney read into the record an announcement of a closed-door executive session to discuss a pending litigation matter.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.

John H. Taylor, Jr.
City Council Officials:
John H. Taylor, Jr., Natasha L. Ervin, Dr. Sherelean Bass, Joseph L. Kelley, Veronica J. Williams

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Planning Board,Zoning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes