Readington School Board Addresses Budget, Personnel Changes, and Board Member Resignation

The Readington School Board recently convened to tackle various issues, including the detailed presentation of the 2024-2025 school year budget, the resignation of board member Christina Napoli, and the appointment of Dr. Jonathan Moss as the new principal of Hollen Brook School. The meeting, which spanned several departments and initiatives, also included discussions on conflicts of interest, the ethics commission’s advisory opinion, and the proposed expansion of the district’s solar energy systems.

The budget for the upcoming school year took center stage with Superintendent Jonathan Hart outlining the timeline and awaiting state aid figures. The final budget approval is slated for April 30th. A comprehensive review encompassed the Curriculum Department’s request for new textbooks and resources, the Health and Physical Education Department’s budget allocation, and the technology budget focusing on infrastructure and security enhancements. Furthermore, the Pupil Services budget was detailed with an emphasis on professional development for specialized staff, and the Facilities Department projected increases for services and capital projects including the expansion of White House School’s solar system.

The resignation of Christina Napoli from the board due to potential conflicts of interest was a significant topic of debate. Questions were raised about the attorney’s role and the process leading to her resignation, with Superintendent Hart clarifying that legal counsel was sought to ensure compliance with regulations. The handling of this issue sparked discussions on the need for better communication and decision-making processes within the board, with some members expressing concerns over the consultation procedures with the board attorney.

In personnel matters, the board announced the appointment of Dr. Jonathan Moss as the principal of Hollen Brook School, detailing his selection process and vision for the school. His introduction was a notable item of discussion..

The meeting also delved into the solar expenses with board member Justina Ryan inquiring about a notable decrease in the maintenance reserve projects, which Business Administrator Jason Bohm attributed to the reduction from ongoing projects. Additionally, Supervisor Marcy Cole provided insights into the transportation department’s operations and the shared services for special education routes.

The Administration and Personnel budget presentations by Mr. Good touched upon new initiatives and recurring items, including a communications initiative and low-income assistance. The Personnel and Benefits budget discussion covered increases in salaries, health benefits, and state pension contributions. The Finance and Facilities committee report recommended a conservative budget increase and reviewed capital projects with substantial investments towards infrastructure improvements.

During the Education and Technology committee report, updates on curriculum standards and enrichment programs were discussed, along with a question regarding the scheduling of testing and fundraising events. The Personnel committee report focused on the RTAA agreement, staffing projections, and the recruitment of bus drivers.

The board’s self-evaluation and superintendent evaluation timeline were briefly discussed, with debate on the self-evaluation tool to be used, ultimately planning a retreat to review the results and set goals. Moreover, the scheduling of board tours and the Green Committee meeting minutes were presented, highlighting environmental education initiatives and sustainability projects.

The public comment period allowed for community engagement, with a member seeking clarity on the board’s conflict of interest process, to which the board responded by referencing the School Ethics Commission and state law compliance.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Jonathan Hart
School Board Officials:
Dr. Camille Cerciello, Ellen DePinto, Elizabeth Fiore, Michele Mencer, Randall J. Peach, Carolyn Podgorski, Justina Ryan, Jennifer Wolf, Jason Bohm (Business Administrator/Board Secretary)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes