Ridgefield School District Greenlights Mental Health Grant, Appointments in Recent Meeting

On June 15, the Ridgefield Board of Education unanimously approved the application for the School-Based Mental Health Grant, made significant personnel appointments, and authorized a multitude of financial and operational decisions. The meeting was held at Ridgefield High School’s Cafeteria, convening at 7:12 p.m., and wrapping up several hours later after an extensive agenda.

Of primary significance was the unanimous approval of the School-Based Mental Health Grant application. This initiative is timely given the rising concerns about the mental health of students, especially in the aftermath of the challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Dr. Tamika DePass made an insightful presentation on the Creative Communications Academy. Following her talk, committee reports were provided by the Education Committee – represented by Ralph Morilla, Maryam Juliet Inan, and Andrew Grippa – and the Operations Committee, spearheaded by Michael Jacobs, William Pych, and Andrew Grippa. Notably, Jacobs also served as the NJSBA/Legislative Delegate, representing the district’s interests on a larger stage.

Numerous resolutions, primarily focused on financial commitments for projects, grants, and other district initiatives, were tackled. These included decisions to ratify the bill list detailing financial transactions, greenlight various fundraisers, and accept several notable donations. Moreover, resolutions surrounding the approval for resident students to attend out-of-district schools based on individualized education programs (IEPs), emergency purchases for roof chiller unit repair and theatrical equipment, and a food service contract with Pomptonian, Inc. were also passed.

Among the several personnel decisions, Elizabeth Densen’s resignation as a teacher assistant, effective June 30, was accepted. She was subsequently appointed as a special education teacher at Slocum Skewes School for the upcoming school year. Other significant appointments for the 2023-2024 academic year included Robert Becker, Rafaella Bavaro, Mikayla Berlingeri, Joanna Tsoullis, and Sara Every in various capacities and at different Ridgefield schools.

The meeting also saw the board affirm the Interim Superintendent’s decisions on several Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying (HIB) cases, with a couple being dismissed.

Amongst a series of policies either introduced, revised, or adopted, the board gave special attention to Policy #0144 on Board Member Orientation and Training, #5305 on Health Services Personnel, and #7440 concerning School District Security.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Not avaliable:

School Board Officials:

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes