Rutherford Borough Council Reorganization: Mayor and Council Members Sworn In Amidst Praise from Dignitaries

In a notable annual event for the Rutherford local government, the Borough Council held its reorganization meeting which included the swearing-in of re-elected officials, the appointment of Councilwoman Stephanie McGowan as Council President, and the presentation of service awards. Dignitaries present at the meeting, such as Senator Paul Sarlo, Assemblyman Clinton Calabrese, and Sheriff Anthony Cureton, praised the leadership of the Rutherford officials.

The reorganization meeting, marking the start of a new term for the elected officials, was a platform for local and state dignitaries to commend the Borough Council’s efforts in governance. Senator Paul Sarlo acknowledged the immediate impact of the local government officials, Assemblyman Clinton Calabrese highlighted the town’s governance with certificates of achievement, and Sheriff Anthony Cureton recognized the officials’ leadership, with specific mention of Chief Russo.

The ceremony also saw the nomination and swearing-in of Councilwoman Stephanie McGowan as Council President. McGowan, who has served consecutive terms, was recognized for her dedication to Rutherford and her focus on inclusivity and community support. Her speech laid out her commitment to champion inclusive housing and meaningful employment opportunities.

Complementing the accolades from dignitaries and the council’s internal recognition was the emphasis on community values and service, evidenced by speeches from officials, including Mayor Frank Nunziato and Councilman Matthew Cokeley. Mayor Nunziato and Councilwoman McGowan both highlighted the importance of inclusivity and community support, reflecting on the unique qualities of Rutherford. Councilman Cokeley, expressing his appreciation for his family and colleagues, shared his vision for the town as a nurturing place for future generations.

Moving forward from the ceremonial aspects, the meeting encompassed the functional responsibilities of the Council, including the adoption of the 2024 bylaws and the approval of Council assignments and board appointments. These procedural actions were essential for setting the operational framework for the Council’s activities over the next year.

The reorganization meeting culminated with the presentation of service awards to several individuals, recognizing their contributions to the Borough. A benediction from a local pastor concluded the official proceedings, followed by a motion to adjourn that was unanimously approved.

Did we get something wrong? Let us know.
Frank Nunziato
City Council Officials:
Stephanie McGowan, Maria Begg-Roberson, Raymond Guzmán, Matthew Cokeley, Susan Quatrone, Christie Del Rey-Cone

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes