Sayreville Borough Council Swears in Officials and Sets Priorities for 2024

In a well-attended Sayreville Borough Council meeting on January 1st, 2024, newly elected officials were sworn in, and Mayor Victoria Kilpatrick outlined the key priorities for the upcoming year. The council also filled various board and committee positions and adopted the meeting schedule for the year, emphasizing the need for adjustments as the year progresses.

The meeting commenced with ceremonial elements, including the swearing-in of the new officials. Mayor Kilpatrick, in her sixth term, was certified for a four-year term alongside Councilmen Michael Colassi and John Zebrowski, who were both elected for three-year terms. Local state Senator Joe Vitale graced the occasion, officiating the swearing-in ceremony. The officials took their oaths, pledging to uphold their duties faithfully. The audience responded with applause and conveyed their well wishes, marking the beginning of the new term with a celebratory atmosphere.

The Mayor took the opportunity to express her gratitude to the community, recounting her personal decision to resign from her mayoral duties in the past to support her spouse’s cancer battle. She acknowledged the community’s support and prayers, which played a role during her family’s difficult period. Mayor Kilpatrick also extended an invitation to all attendees to join at Camillo’s, reinforcing the sense of community and camaraderie prevalent within the borough.

Following the ceremonial proceedings, Mayor Kilpatrick presented the council’s priorities for 2024. She highlighted the borough’s achievements, including efficient snow plowing, leaf pickup operations, and well-maintained parks. The Mayor then addressed the crucial challenges ahead, placing emphasis on growing traffic concerns and the urgent need for road repairs and replacements. Another significant priority is the improvement of athletic fields in Sayreville, with the Mayor expressing her dedication to initiatives that will benefit residents and future generations.

Council members voiced their commitments and aspirations. Councilman Michael Ki and Councilman John Zebrowski pledged to work diligently for the town and to make residents proud of their elected officials. Councilman Christian Onuoha encouraged celebration for the new year, while Councilman Dan Balka recognized the invaluable contribution of volunteers within the community. Councilman Vincent Conti affirmed his commitment to the borough’s success, and Councilman John Sinari highlighted the importance of supporting volunteers, mentioning the celebration of Joseph Scanland’s 50 years of service with the Morgan First Aid Squad.

The council also conducted essential official business. Councilman Zebrowski presented a thorough list of appointments, including the borough attorney, engineer, auditor, and various board and commission members. Following a roll call vote, these appointments were confirmed. Donna Roberts was nominated and approved as the council president, setting the leadership structure for the year.

The council addressed the consent agenda resolutions, allowing the public to ask questions and provide input before closing the public portion. After the public comments, the resolutions were adopted, following another roll call vote.

Councilman Zebrowski emphasized the role of council liaisons to committees and underscored that the meeting schedule for 2024 had been adopted, noting its potential for adjustments throughout the year. The standing committees were approved, and various professional appointments were made to the boards and committees. These actions were taken after some discussion regarding the qualifications of the appointees.

The public portion of the meeting did not feature any questions or comments. Following the public portion, the meeting concluded with a prayer from a member of the public, leading to the adjournment motion, which was carried out after a second and a vote.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.

Victoria Kilpatrick
City Council Officials:
John Zebrowski, Dan Balka, Vincent Conti, Mary Novak, Christian Onuoha, Donna Roberts, Jessica Morelos (Municipal Clerk), Nicole Waranowicz (Assistant Municipal Clerk), Jeanmarie O’Leary (Keyboarding Clerk I), Kaitlyn Mulcahy (Clerk 1), Dan Celidonio (Building Inspector), Lewis Hassell (Building Inspector), John Sarica (Electrical Subcode Official), Kirk Miick (Director/Construction & Fire Subcode Official), Dave Wroblewski (Building Subcode Official), Ernest Morgan (Plumbing Subcode Official), Dave Piech (Electrical Inspector), Amy Huff (Technical Assistant), Elizabeth Kuras (Clerk/Bilingual), Amy Williams (Technical Assistant), Donald Riley (Morgan First Aid President), Dexter Thomas (Sayreville Emergency Squad President), Denise Biancamano (C. F. O.), Danielle Maiorana (QPA, Purchasing Agent), Bea Duigon (Benefits Clerk), Jennifer Dusko (Payroll Clerk), Amy Loughman (Senior Account Clerk), Kevin Krushinski (Fire Official), Jonathan Magaw (Fire Inspector), Andrew Landstrom (Fire Inspector), Joe Notarangelo (Board of Health President), Amy Williams (Registrar), Edwin Gano (Health Inspector), Leah Kloc (Library Director), Rebecca Garbowski (Personnel Director), Glenn Skarzynski (Business Administrator), Jennifer Betzler (Clerk), Jennifer Bell (Director of Senior Citizen Activities), Jeanne Cirillo (Field Representative), Rita Kolodziej (Clerk), Dan Plumacker (Chief of Police), Dominick Castelgrant (Uniform Division Commander), Patrick Kiernan (Captain – Administration), Debbie Turner (Records Department), Dawn Perry-Meyer (Clerk), Enza Tsaptsinos (Clerk), Brian Van Dongen (Director of Recreation), Jeffrey Schnitzer (Clerk), Cheryl McQuade (Clerk), George Gawron (Superintendant of Public Works), Elyse Barone (Recycling Coordinator), Matthew Johnsen (Fire Chief), Vincent Waranowicz (First Assistant Fire Chief), Anthony Mercado (Second Assistant Fire Chief), Joseph Kupsch (Tax Assessor), Beverly Johns (Deputy Tax Assessor), Ken Kelly (Assessing Clerk), Katie Elichko (Tax Collector), David Leitner (Superintendent), Ken Hays (Supervisor of Water), Rich Jurkiewicz (Sewer Supervisor), Jodie Klosek (Office Supervisor), Andrew Mashanski (Zoning Officer), Joan Kemble (Clerk/Zoning Board Secretary), Beth Magnani (Secretary), Tracy Ansley (Code Enforcement Officer), Rafael Albarran (Code Enforcement Officer/Bilingual Spanish), Joan Kemble (Clerk).

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes