Tenafly Borough Council Meeting: Election Results Certified, Councilwoman Dayton Honored, and 2024 Priorities Set

In a recent Tenafly Borough Council meeting, Mayor Mark Zinna confirmed his re-election alongside new council members John Sarr and Jamie Corsair, with Governor Phil Murphy and Senator Gordon Johnson in attendance to express their support. The meeting also paid tribute to Councilwoman Lauren Dayton for her six years of service, while setting forth Mayor Zinna’s priorities for 2024, which include infrastructure improvement, community engagement, and economic development.

The meeting opened with a heartfelt acknowledgment of Councilwoman Lauren Dayton’s contributions to the Tenafly community. Members of the public, including Jeff Dayton, praised her service, particularly highlighting her efforts during the pandemic and her advocacy for various community initiatives. A state assembly member presented a resolution recognizing Councilwoman Dayton’s commitment to Tenafly, marking her impact on the borough. In her response, Councilwoman Dayton reflected on her tenure, noting her work on improving playgrounds, drafting ordinances, and collaborating with professionals and volunteers. She also discussed the challenges of the New Jersey ballot system, advocating for election fairness and transparency. Her emotional farewell underscored both her accomplishments and her hopes for Tenafly’s future.

The meeting’s atmosphere was further elevated by the presence of Governor Phil Murphy and Senator Gordon Johnson, who joined to certify the election results. Mayor Mark Zinna’s re-election was confirmed, with the addition of John Sarr and Jamie Corsair as new council members. Councilman Adam Michaels administered the oath of office, and Governor Murphy acknowledged the hardships faced by Tenafly, including the distressing situation of a local resident held hostage by Hamas. In a show of solidarity and recognition, Senator Johnson introduced Governor Murphy, who praised Mayor Zinna’s leadership in navigating through these challenging times.

Following the certification of election results, the council elected Adam Michaels as the council president for 2024. Public comments included Jonathan Krieger’s congratulations to the new officials and his optimistic outlook for Tenafly’s future. The council members proceeded with appointments to various community boards and committees, emphasizing the importance of citizen volunteers and thanking those who contribute their time and expertise to the borough.

The meeting culminated with Mayor Zinna’s state of the borough address, outlining the top priorities for the coming year. These priorities included the improvement of road departments, unification of parks, enhancement of recreation opportunities, upgrades to senior services, downtown improvements, stormwater management, and pedestrian safety. The mayor also highlighted the significance of encouraging small business entrepreneurs to invest in Tenafly, noting new restaurant openings and ongoing projects aimed at downtown revitalization.

Mayor Zinna took the opportunity to express gratitude to Governor Murphy for his role in the ceremony and to underscore the value of positive working relationships with government entities and funding sources. He called on the community to actively participate in town activities and council meetings, stressing the influence of those who engage in decision-making processes.

Did we get something wrong? Let us know.
Mark Zinna
City Council Officials:
Lauren Dayton, Venugopal Menon, Adam Michaels, Julie O’Connor, Daniel Park

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes