Tinton Falls Borough Council Reorganization Meeting Highlights New Projects and Address Opioid Crisis

The Tinton Falls Borough Council reorganization meeting held on January 2, 2024, marked the certification and swearing-in of newly elected officials Tracy Buckley, Rysa Clay, and Michael Nesci, with Tracy Buckley being the top vote-getter. The Council also nominated and elected Rysa Clay as the Council President and Dr. Lawrence Doan as the Deputy Council President. Additionally, the meeting underscored the borough’s commitment to tackling the opioid crisis through an awareness and prevention program, the receipt of significant grant funding for community projects, and the ongoing construction of the Tinton Falls Library and park improvements.

The swearing-in ceremony was a focal point of the meeting with Tracy Buckley, Rysa Clay, and Michael Nesci officially taking their oaths of office. Buckley was sworn in by Assemblywoman-elect Luanne Peterpaul, while Senator Vin Gopal administered the oaths to Clay and Nesci. In their statements, the officials expressed their gratitude to the residents and their commitment to making Tinton Falls a safe and affordable community. Buckley thanked voters for entrusting her with another term, and Clay thanked the voters, her running mates, and the residents for their support.

Following the ceremony, Mayor Vito Perillo made several appointments to the Planning Board and Historic Preservation Commission. Nicole Kelly, Lori Paone, Robert Clayton, Robert Markoff, Richard Wallace, Peter Schwarz, and Herbert Queen were appointed to the Planning Board, and Michael Lee and Kathleen DeAngelo were appointed to the Historic Preservation Commission.

Additionally the Borough Engineer, Tom Neff, provided updates on key infrastructure projects that will impact the community. Updates included the construction of the Tinton Falls Library and the installation of new sirens for lightning detection systems at Liberty Park, Sycamore Park, and Haxen Park. Additionally, the Business Administrator, Mr. Terao, highlighted the significant grant funding received by the borough. Among the notable grants were $600,000 allocated for the Sycamore softball fields and $50,000 for the njdca Public Safety grant.

A pivotal part of the meeting was the report on the opioid awareness and prevention program. The program will focus on overdose prevention education for high school students and will involve the police department.

The council received a budgeting and audits report, which indicated consistently exemplary marks on its audits. Mayor Perillo and the director of law both commended the newly elected council members and extended their best wishes for the coming year.

Dr. Doan shared his excitement about the anticipated opening of the Tinton Falls Library in 2024, emphasizing the importance of this resource to the community. Councilman Robert McCoy thanked the Township Police Department and Fire Department for their service and expressed gratitude for the opportunity to serve as council president. Councilman Michael Nesci reported attending the EMS fire swearing-in and thanked the EMS and firefighters for their service, highlighting the role these departments play in community safety.

The meeting also included a public discussion segment, which provided a platform for community members to voice their support and gratitude. Eatontown Borough Council Member Danielle Jones, along with residents Ellen Goldberg and Brendan Tobin, commended the council for their service. Ronnie Batista, who had served on the Tinton Falls Zoning Board of Adjustment for 16 years, shared his gratitude and extended his best wishes.

Furthermore, the council proceeded with the appointments to various boards and committees, such as the environmental commission, the Green Team advisory committee, the planning board, and the zoning board of adjustment. These appointments were approved through roll call votes and are essential for the borough’s environmental and development planning efforts.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Vito Perillo
City Council Officials:
Frank Lodato, Robert Clayton, Gary Baldwin, Michael Nesci, Lori Paone, Joseph Mirachi, Richard Wallace, Joel Natter, Robert Markoff, William F. Holobowski, Robert McCoy, Jennifer Beahm (Planner), Leon Avakian (Inc.), Tom Neff (Engineer), Dennis Collins (Board Attorney), Trish Zibrin (Board Secretary)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes