Wyckoff Council Resists State Bill

In a recent Wyckoff Town Council meeting that proved a vibrant mix of nostalgia, resistance, and proactive decision-making, the council vehemently opposed General Assembly Bill 4276, pledged to bolster school safety, and celebrated the town’s first woman mayor, Nancy Drabeck.

Bill 4276, potentially imposing severe restrictions on local authorities regarding 5G telecommunication facilities deployment, sparked the most heat. Business Administrator Matt Cavallo defended the council’s opposition, asserting that the legislation could override local zoning rights, replacing them with state law. “We want to make sure that that bill does not grow legs and walk,” Cavallo stated emphatically.

School safety took center stage with Resolutions 217 and 219, focused on deploying Class 3 Special Law Enforcement Officers in Wyckoff Township Public Schools from September onwards. “We certainly welcome… the need for enhancing security at all our schools,” a council member remarked.

A unanimous nod was given to the re-examination amendment to the town’s master plan, resulting from meticulous work. This heralds an overhaul of essential areas requiring attention, serving as a testament to the council’s commitment to address evolving local needs.

The council acknowledged the necessity for an upgrade to firefighting equipment, supporting Senate Bill 3807 and A5567 that amend the Local Bond Law. An ordinance for a $2.4 million bond was introduced to acquire a new fire ladder truck, with an anticipated delivery window of three years.

On the local development front, J.A. Alexander bagged the $1.1 million contract for the 2023 Road Improvement Program, set for an August-end completion. Also, the council green-lighted a request from Christian Health for funds from the Affordable Housing Trust Fund to renovate affordable senior living houses on their campus. A stormwater grant application for $25,000 was also filed to fortify local stormwater infrastructure.

In a heartfelt segment of the meeting, the council honored Nancy Drabeck, Wyckoff’s first woman mayor, praising her dedication to the town and commending her service, particularly in championing environmental causes. While acknowledging her departure to Florida, the council members were unanimous in their appreciation: “This Proclamation says it all. Nancy’s a great person.”

Other initiatives, including an innovative proposal by the Environmental Commission to host a fashion show emphasizing clothing reuse, and a trial program to close Town Hall and Wyckoff DPW early on Fridays during summer, were among the points of discussion.

The council also recognized Lauren McCarron, a Junior Environmental Commission contributor, who won the Lewis Bay Future Municipal Leader Scholarship with her essay on fostering civic engagement.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Not avaliable:

City Council Officials:

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes