Caldwell-West Caldwell Board of Education Welcomes New Member Marissa Landy Jefferson

In a recent reorganization meeting of the Caldwell-West Caldwell Board of Education, the most significant event was the swearing-in of new board member Marissa Landy Jefferson, who received 1,740 votes in the recent election. Joseph Zaki, a practicing New Jersey attorney who works with Jefferson, administered the oath of office. Zaki praised Jefferson’s strong work ethic, attention to detail, and her role in managing town hall programs. Following the swearing-in ceremony, the board conducted its annual reorganization, which included electing Julianne Grosso as president and Chris D’Ambola as vice president for the year.

The meeting also covered the appointment of board members to various committees and associations, with all items from 1 through 25 on the agenda approved unanimously. In her statement, newly elected president Julianne Grosso expressed her hopes for a year marked by collaboration, growth, and positive transformation, extending a warm welcome to Jefferson.

During the public comments section, a community member, John Walker, expressed concerns about the middle school’s requirement for students to wear lanyards, citing safety issues and lack of transparency regarding the funds collected from lanyard replacements. Superintendent Dr. Christopher Conklin took note of the concerns and committed to addressing the questions raised.

The board agreed to enter executive session following the meeting, and it was announced that the next meetings would be held on January 22nd and 29th, with plans for future meetings to take place at each elementary school in the district.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.

Dr. Christopher Conklin
School Board Officials:
Julianne Grosso, Chris D’Ambola, Chris Elko, Terri DiMartini-Greenlee, Danielle Mack, Madeline Alberta (JCHS Student Representative)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes