Morris Town Council Condemns Anti-Semitism and Welcomes New Police Officers

In a Morris Town Council meeting, officials took a strong stand against anti-Semitism with a proclamation read by Township Committeeman Bud Ravitz, which was echoed by powerful remarks from guest speakers including Danielle Cohen Shreer and Michael Goldberg. In the same session, a swearing-in ceremony welcomed new members to the Morris Township Police Department, and the Morristown High School girls volleyball team was celebrated for their state championship win.

The council addressed the troubling rise of anti-Semitic incidents by presenting a proclamation denouncing such acts of hatred and discrimination. Committeeman Ravitz delivered the proclamation, calling for a collective effort to combat anti-Semitism and foster an inclusive environment for all individuals. Guest speakers supported the council’s stance, with Danielle Cohen Shreer of the American Jewish Committee sharing disconcerting statistics from a recent survey. Michael Goldberg of the Jewish Federation of Greater Metro West New Jersey shared personal anecdotes, urging the need for unity and understanding between diverse communities. Senator Anthony Buco and a statement from Congresswoman Mikey Cheryl’s office further highlighted the community’s resolve to stand against such bigotry.

In a moving ceremony, three new police officers—Ryan Carlin, Chris Furing, and Samantha Nkuzi—were sworn into the Morris Township Police Department. Chief Shear and council members expressed their confidence in the new recruits’ capabilities to serve the community with distinction. The ceremony also included a notable moment of silence for the fallen first responders in Burnsville, Minnesota, and recognition of Officer Carman Picolo’s retirement after 23 years of service.

The high school girls volleyball team’s accomplishments were celebrated, with each team member receiving individual recognition. Coach Kathy Hormaza and Athletic Director Smitty Horton were praised for leading the team to a historic season. The council noted the importance of women’s sports viewership and commended the team for their achievements, including the first Morris County tournament title.

The council’s focus on inclusivity and respect for diversity was further emphasized by the acknowledgment of February as Black History Month. A proclamation, thanked by Councilman Ravitz, highlighted the contributions of African Americans, particularly in the arts. The council mentioned the exhibit “The Ties That Bind” at St. Elizabeth University, which explores the impact of race relations in Morris County and New Jersey.

Reverend Dr. Sydney Williams Jr. was recognized for his role in organizing the exhibit, which celebrates African American history and culture. A resolution was also discussed to correct the birth year of Frederick Douglass, aligning with the historical figure’s own calculations.

Enthusiasm was expressed for these projects, which will enhance local amenities and provide a community hub.

During the public commentary, Dan Maguire from Homeless Solutions praised the township’s emergency services for their response to a fire at the shelter. The council reciprocated with appreciation for the organization’s work. Additionally, the meeting included discussions on ordinances related to salaries, the approval of a grant application, and updates from various advisory committees.

Council members shared their experiences and involvement in local initiatives. Mark J. Gyorfy highlighted environmental and historical preservation activities, Siva S. Jonnada provided updates on the Cannabis Advisory Board, and William “Bud” Ravitz encouraged residents to stay informed about municipal projects. Deputy Mayor Jeffery R. Grayzel and Mayor Donna J. Guariglia discussed the contributions of volunteer committees and reported on infrastructure and community service initiatives.

The session concluded with a public comment period, where resident Pamela Watson thanked the council for their collaboration and work.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Donna J. Guariglia
City Council Officials:
Jeffery R. Grayzel, Mark J. Gyorfy, William “Bud” Ravitz, Siva S. Jonnada

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes