Rochelle Park Board of Education Makes Key Appointments Amid Minor Disputes

On May 9, the Rochelle Park Board of Education conducted a special meeting to discuss significant matters related to the upcoming academic year, including crucial personnel decisions, budget approval, and certain formal recognitions.

The meeting began on a somber note with a moment of silence for Richard Cravello, after an initial delay due to the absence of a quorum. Superintendent Dr. Sue DeNobile then highlighted the school’s HIB Grades and Performance report, available online, in line with legal requirements.

Several resolutions recognizing the important contributions of educators and school staff were then unanimously passed. These included motions to acknowledge National Teacher Day, Special Education Week, and School Nurse Day, reflecting the board’s recognition of their integral roles in student wellbeing and success.

The meeting proceeded to address a range of personnel resolutions. James Riley, Ed.D., was named as Business Administrator/Board Secretary, Cara Hurd as Director of Curriculum & Instruction, Michael Alberta as Principal, Rebecca Garcia as Director of Special Services, and Rexhep Leka as Building & Grounds Supervisor. Superintendent’s Secretary/Board Recording Secretary role was awarded to Ellen Kobylarz.

Despite this progress, the meeting saw minor disagreements and abstentions during voting on certain issues. Resolutions P4 and P10 did not pass due to abstentions from board member Elaine Rainone, creating a lack of quorum for these particular votes. The board decided to revisit these resolutions in a future meeting.

Amid these personnel discussions, the board approved contracts for various roles and confirmed the employment of tenured personnel for the 2023-2024 school year. The hiring of part-time Para Professionals and playground assistants was also approved. Additionally, the board approved the immediate resignation of an employee and sanctioned a twelve-week New Jersey Family leave for another.

A major decision made during the meeting was the approval of the 2023-2024 academic year budget, which totaled $16,699,218, with a significant portion expected to be raised via a local tax levy.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.
Not avaliable:

School Board Officials:

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending meetings
across the country:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Agricultural Advisory Committee
Airport Advisory Board
Art and Culture Board
Beach Committee
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
Building Committee
Cannabis Control Board
Cemetery Commission
Charter Revision Commission
Child and Family Services Board
City Council
City Identity Committee
Code Enforcement Board
College Board of Trustees
Community Appearance Board
Community Preservation Committee
Community Redevelopment Agency
County Council
Disability Advisory Committee
Economic Development Board
Elderly Affairs Board
Electric Advisory Board
Environmental Commission
Financial Oversight Board
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Human Resources Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Licensing Board
Mental Health Commission
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Oversight and Review Committee
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Pension Board
Planning Board
Police Review Board
Property Assessment Board
Public Safety Committee
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Control Board
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Special Magistrate
Taxation & Revenue Advisory Committee
Tourism Board
Trails Committee
Transportation Board
Utility Board
Value Adjustment Board
Veterans Committee
Water Control Board
Women's Advisory Committee
Youth Advisory Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Bay County
Bradford County
Brevard County
Broward County
Clay County
Duval County
Escambia County
Gulf County
Hendry County
Highlands County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon County
Levy County
Liberty County
Manatee County
Marion County
Martin County
Miami-Dade County
Monroe County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco County
Pinellas County
Polk County
Putnam County
Santa Rosa County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Johns County
Taylor County
Volusia County
Walton County
Barnstable County
Berkshire County
Bristol County
Essex County
Franklin County
Hampden County
Hampshire County
Middlesex County
Norfolk County
Plymouth County
Suffolk County
Worcester County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes