Woodbridge Board of Education Elects New Officers and Commits to Long-Term Strategic Planning

In the latest reorganization meeting of the Woodbridge Township Board of Education, developments included the election of board officers and the introduction of a long-term strategic planning initiative. The meeting commenced with the swearing-in of re-elected and newly elected board members Marie Anderson, Frank DellaPietro III, and Nazam Mohammed, and the unanimous election of Daniel Harris as board president and Susan Bourdin as vice president. The meeting also featured policy adoptions by the policy and planning committee and the negotiations committee, as well as public remarks that welcomed the elected officials.

The board members expressed their full support for the nominees, acknowledging their leadership qualities and dedication to the board’s mission. This smooth transition in leadership was marked by the absence of opposing nominations.

Mayor John McCormack’s remarks underscored the importance of the symbiotic relationship between the township and the school district. He commended the collaborative efforts that have been made and stressed their continued significance for the welfare of the Woodbridge community. This sentiment reflects an understanding of the impact that strong governance in education can have on the broader municipality.

The meeting saw the policy and planning committee present six items for adoption, with the process being swiftly moved by Jenny Perez and seconded by Jonathan Triebwasser, followed by a roll call that resulted in their approval. Similarly, the negotiations committee’s single item was moved by Joseph Velez, seconded by Akshar “AJ” Sidana, and approved after a roll call. These actions demonstrate the board’s commitment to advancing the district’s policies and operations without delay.

Public participation, while limited, was positive and supportive. Brian Mnar from Port Reading took the opportunity to commend the re-elected and newly elected board members and to wish the board a productive year. The responses from the board members were equally gracious, with Marie Anderson acknowledging the support from her running mates, the Town Council, and the voters of Woodbridge Township. Frank DellaPietro III shared his goal of championing a long-term strategic plan for the district, stressing the importance of input from various stakeholders, including the board, administration, district employees, and the public.

DellaPietro’s call for comprehensive stakeholder involvement suggests a move towards increased transparency and collaborative problem-solving, which could serve as a model for other districts.

The meeting concluded with a motion to adjourn that was unanimously approved by the board. The tone of the meeting was one of optimism and cooperation, with no issues raised.

Note: This meeting summary was generated by AI, which can occasionally misspell names, misattribute actions, and state inaccuracies. This summary is intended to be a starting point and you should review the meeting record linked above before acting on anything you read. If we got something wrong, let us know. We’re working every day to improve our process in pursuit of universal local government transparency.

Dr. Joseph Massimino
School Board Officials:
Daniel Harris, Susan Bourdin, Marie Anderson, Frank DellaPietro III, Jenny Perez, Nazam Mohammed, Akshar “AJ” Sidana, Jonathan Triebwasser, Joseph Velez, Nicole Lanigan (Board Secretary)

Receive debriefs about local meetings in your inbox weekly:

Trending in
New Jersey:

Meeting Date
Filter by bodytypes
Bike and Pedestrian Advisory Committee
Board of Elections
Board of Health
Borough Council
City Council
County Council
Environmental Commission
Historic Preservation Commission
Housing Authority
Human Relations Committee
Insurance Fund
Land Use Board
Library Board
Municipal Alliance
Open Space Commission
Parking Authority
Parks and Gardens Commission
Parks Commission
Planning Board
Recreation Commission
Redevelopment Agency
Rent Leveling Board
School Board
Sewerage Authority
Shade Tree Commission
Trails Committee
Zoning Board
Filter by County
Atlantic County
Bergen County
Burlington County
Camden County
Cape May County
Cumberland County
Essex County
Gloucester County
Hudson County
Hunterdon County
Mercer County
Middlesex County
Monmouth County
Morris County
Ocean County
Passaic County
Somerset County
Sussex County
Union County
Warren County
Filter by sourcetypes